The CVVFA has three distinguished awards that may be presented each year at the Annual Convention. Descriptions and instructions how to submit applications are found here.

The E. Wade Thomas Memorial Member of the Year Award 

Purpose: E. Wade Thomas, Chief of the Keyser WV Fire Department and West Virginia State Fire Marshal served as President of the CVVFA in 1950. President Thomas passed away during his term of office. He was a nationally recognized fire prevention and life safety educator and used scientific props and demonstrations to explain how fires start in the home. Since his death the Association has honored his contributions to fire safety by naming an award in his behalf. First established as a fire prevention award it has since been expanded to recognize a member who has provided distinguished service to the organization over a long period of time. The award is presented annually at the Installation Banquet during the Annual Convention.

Eligibility: Any member in good standing is eligible to be nominated for this award.

How to nominate a CVVFA Member for the E. Wade Thomas Memorial Member of the Year Award: 

Any member of the CVVFA is eligible to nominate a fellow member for this award. Prepare a narrative listing attributes, accomplishments that directly contributed to the success of the CVVFA. Letters should be mailed or emailed no later than June 1 to the Recording Secretary for processing by the Committee. Nomination Letters should be directed to Chairman George Dove PP via email:

The Chief Gary “Happy Jack” Easton Youth Leadership Award

Purpose: Throughout his fire service career Chief Gary “Happy Jack” Easton of the Berkeley Springs Volunteer Fire Company recognized the importance of recruiting, training and guiding young people to become firefighters.  Chief Easton’s “boys” as they referred to themselves were all well trained emergency responders. “Happy Jack” also identified and mentored many of these younger members with the leadership skills necessary to prepare them as future fire service leaders.

They could often be seen assisting with special projects, helping with administrative duties and generally learning how to lead by being at the side of more experienced members of the fire service.

The purpose of this Award is to honor the memory of Chief Easton by bestowing special recognition on a younger member of the Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association who displays the leadership attributes that “Happy Jack” identified and promoted in “his boys”.

Eligibility: Any member of the Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association 21 years of age or younger who is identified by the selection committee as having current and future leadership potential in the fire service. One award may be bestowed each year at the Annual Convention.

How to Nominate: Letters should be mailed or emailed to Recording Secretary Jim Watson PP         ,  267 Attix drive Dover, DE 19904, no later than June 1 for processing by “Youth Leadership Award Committee” stating the qualifications of the nominee and the specific leadership qualities that make the nominee eligible for the award. Questions? Jim Watson (302) 528-2273

Recognition: The award recipient shall be recognized at the annual banquet by the presentation of a personalized helmet donated by Kevin Greenlee VP Fire Store of Hagerstown MD. The Chairman of the Committee and the President shall present the award and explain its significance during the banquet. Prior winners of the award shall be listed in the CVVFA Book of Proceedings.

Committee: The Youth Leadership Award Committee shall be appointed by the President. Award recipients shall automatically become members of the Committee in future years.

Past President Joseph Bukowski Responder Safety Award

Purpose:  Past President Joe Bukowski a Life Member, dedicated much of his service the Cumberland Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association as the Chief Financial Officer of the CVVFA Emergency Responder Safety Institute. Joe had a long standing commitment to protecting emergency responders on the highways. He served as a Fire Police Officer at the Aetna Hose, Hook and Ladder Company of Newark Delaware.  He was elected President of the New Castle County Delaware Fire Police Association and reached the pinnacle of his fire service career in Delaware when he was elected President of the Delaware State Fire Police Association.  After his untimely death in 2010 the CVVFA established an award in Joe’s memory to honor individuals or organizations that exemplify Joe’s commitment to responder safety. In his honor the first award was presented posthumously to Joe during the 109th Annual Convention in Hancock MD in August of 2010. The award was accepted by his wife Karen.

Award: The Association may present one award annually at the annual convention to an individual or organization whose actions display exemplary commitment to the safety of highway incident responders to include, fire, ems, law enforcement, DOT or towing and recovery personnel. The award may be presented for a single incident or long term efforts. Applicants whose actions have measurably improved the safety of responders will receive the highest consideration. 

How to Nominate: Copy the following application below and follow the instructions. Completed applications must be submitted to no later than June 1st each year to the following email address

Committee: A committee appointed by the President shall select the award winner. There is no requirement to make an award. The committee may at its discretion solicit nominations.

Award Presentation: The award presentation shall take place at the Annual Banquet. The Association shall invite the award winner (or representative should the winner be an organization) to the banquet to receive the award.

Past President Joseph Bukowski Responder Safety Award

Award Submission

Award Submission